Rotary installs Guillen as President, names Hausberger “Rotarian of the Year”

New president Jesse Guillen

HIGHLANDS– Rotary Club of Highlands held their installation banquet for new officers and directors last Thursday, June 26th, with Judge Mike Parrott and Judge Tony Polumbo presiding.

New officers for the coming year will be President Jesse Guillen, 1st VP Patricia Scott, Treasurer Charlie Ward, Secretary Willie Glasgow, Past President Joe Hausberger, and Sargeant at Arms Jeremy Rosenkranz.

Other Board of Directors include Service: Doug Dodds, Vocational: Chet Cotten, Community: Pat McPhee, and International: Robert Woodall. Program co-chairs are Gilbert Hoffman and Willie Glasgow.

The banquet was held at the San Jacinto/Highlands Community Center. Over 100 persons attended, including officials from District 5890 of Rotary, which represents 55 clubs in the Houston area. This included Pat Mueller, Assistant District Governor, and DeLissa Simmons, Governor nominee for 2004-5.

In addition to swearing in new officers, a number of awards were made. Rotarian of the Year was given to outgoing president Joe Hausberger. By vote of the club, it was acknowledged that he had led an outstanding year. The award was presented by Gilbert Hoffman, a past president and previous Rotarian of the Year.

Hausberger was cited for his accomplishments: growth in membership by 20 per cent, contributions to the Highlands VFD radio antenna project, participation with other clubs in new Christmas decorations for Main Street, award of 8 scholarships to local students, support of the Little League and the Boy Scouts, a very successful Chili Feast fund raiser and raffle, participation in the District’s Convention, and winning of 1st place in their “Art for the Hungry” competition, participation in the District’s New Orleans convention, with the most members from any club, and plans to accept a new Exchange student for the coming year 2003-2004.
In his award remarks, Hoffman also noted that Hausberger had led the club with his own unique warmth and personality that made everyone feel comfortable and included.

Other awards that were presented included an Honorary Member status for Pat Lohan of the Chinquapin School, who for many years has been in chargeof Rotary’s Interact Club at Chinquapin.

Also receiving recognition was retiring Treasurer Ed Palmer, who has held this position through about 15 presidents.

In a moment or two of levity, last year’s “Rookie Dudes” Chet Cotten and Stephen Miller retired, and the honor, so called, was passed to Jeremy Rosenkranz and Joe Hausberger, Jr. Also, Pat Robinson was awarded the “Betty Boop” award for best impersonation, and as she accepted the honor she showed us why she won.

Before the banquet, music was provided by The Baytown Big Band, and cooking was by the Henderson group and Charlie Ward and Stephen Miller and Robert Schmadl.