Dayton Ole Tyme Days Festival announces ‘07 scholarship recipients

The Dayton Old Tyme Days Festival awarded 21 scholarships this year.

CROSBY– The annual scholarship awards ceremony for Dayton’s graduating seniors was held May 24. Dayton Ole Tyme Days Festival announced 21 scholarship winners for 2007. The mission of the Dayton Ole Tyme Days Festival is to promote Dayton, Texas and to raise money for local youth scholarships.
Event organizers say the 15th anniversary year was their most successful, allowing them to give away $25,000.00 in scholarships.
Scholarships winners were Cheyanne Choate, $2000 in memory of Jay Tankersley; Jacob Pickle $2000, in memory of Jackie Lambright; Andrew Dewey $2000 ,in memory of Sharon Gray; and Ashley Krnavek, $2000 in memory of Delores Bagley.
Dayton Old Tyme Days Scholarships, valued at $1,000 each, were awarded to Megan Ash, Sara Trevizo, Ashtyn Underwood, Elizabeth Adams, Trey Durdin, Megan McClaugherty and Meagan Rossow.
Also: Jason Heilig, Morgan Williamson, Nicholas Anderson, Lindsey Booth, Matthew Passmore, Quantanique White, Robert Wurz, Cheyanna Clark, Justin Choate and Sean McCool.
The festival committee invites the community to join them again next April for the 16th annual Dayton Ole Tyme Days Festival for a weekend of fun for the whole family.
For more information about Dayton Ole Tyme Days, visit for details on the arts & crafts, live music, BBQ cookoff, Junior Chili cookoff, carnival, car show, bake-off, pageant/contest, photo contest, 42-tournament and tractor show.