Press "Enter" to skip to content

Posts published in “Day: April 14, 2016

TxDOT calls for public hearing May 5 on FM 2100 widening

Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) will conduct a public hearing on May 5, 2016, at the Newport Elementary School Cafeteria, 430 N. Diamondhead Boulevard, Crosby, Texas 77532.

The purpose of the hearing is to present the proposed widening of Farm-to-Market (FM) Road 2100 from FM 1960 to S. Diamondhead Boulevard, in Harris County, Texas, and to receive public comments. Displays will be available for viewing at 5:30 p.m. with the formal hearing commencing at 6:30 p.m.

The proposed project would widen FM 2100 from a two-lane undivided roadway to a four- lane divided facility. Five-foot sidewalks would be constructed on both sides of the roadway. The purpose of the proposed project is to reduce congestion and improve safety. The proposed improvements would require approximately 107 acres of additional right-of-way which includes seven proposed detention pond locations. The total project length is approximately 8 miles, and approximately six residences, eight commercial structures, and two churches would potentially be displaced as a result of the proposed project.

Maps and other drawings showing the proposed project’s location and design will be displayed at the hearing. Environmental documentation for the project will also be available for inspection at the hearing. This information is available by appointment Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. at the TxDOT Houston District office located at 7600 Washington Avenue, Houston, Texas 77007, and at TxDOT’s North Harris Area Office, located at 16803 Eastex Freeway, (US 59), Humble, Texas 77396. To schedule an appointment, please contact Wahida Wakil, P.E., at (713) 802-5513 or the North Harris Area Office at (281) 319-6400. The project information can also be viewed at TxDOT’s websites: meetings.html and

All interested citizens are invited to attend this public hearing. Verbal and written comments from the public regarding this project are requested and may be presented for a period of 10 business days following the hearing. Written comments may be submitted either in person or by mail to the TxDOT District Office, Director of Project Development, P.O. Box 1386, Houston, Texas 77251, or emailed to Comments must be received or postmarked on or before May 19, 2016, in order to become part of the official hearing record.

The Public Hearing will be conducted in English. Persons interested in attending the hearing that have special communication or accommodation needs, or need an interpreter, are encouraged to contact the TxDOT District Public Information Officer at (713) 802-5076. Requests should be made at least two business days before the hearing. Every reasonable effort will be made to accommodate these needs.

The environmental review, consultation, and other actions required by applicable Federal environmental laws for this project are being, or have been, carried-out by TxDOT pursuant to

23 U.S.C. § 327 and a Memorandum of Understanding dated December 16, 2014, and executed by the FHWA and TxDOT.

Local students take national debate honors

Two local debate team members of the University of Arkansas at Monticello became national champions last week.

UAM debaters swept the Scholastic, Founders and Overall Sweepstakes Awards at the 2015-16 International Public Debate Association National Tournament March 31 through April 3 at Lee College of Baytown, Texas.

Cody Bijou, a junior communications and political science double major from Crosby, Texas, bested 381 competitors to capture the national championship as the top debater in the varsity division in season-long competition. Cody is a Crosby ISD graduate.

Reagan Dobbs, a junior political science major from Dayton, Texas, was the national champion speaker in varsity debate at the national tournament in a field of 109 competitors.

The IPDA national championship is UAM’s second, and the first since the 2007-08 academic year. UAM debaters posted a winning percentage of 71 percent with 79 percent advancing past the preliminary rounds.

The competition included eight preliminary rounds in four divisions — novice, junior varsity, varsity and professional, as well as four preliminary rounds in team competition. Awards were presented based on both national tournament performances and season-long competition.

In addition to winning all three national tournament sweepstakes competitions, UAM debaters won five individual national championships.

Gabrielle Swain of Monticello, a senior communications major, was the season-long novice debate national champion in a field of 493 competitors. In the professional division,

Chris Brown, an assistant debate coach and debate instructor, captured a pair of national championships as the top season-long speaker and debater. UAM also won season-long team national championships in novice debate and varsity debate.