Highlands Chamber presents awards, names Deacon Tittel the Terry Davis winner

Firefighter Deacon Tittel received the coveted Terry Davis Award

HIGHLANDS– The Highlands Chamber of Commerce held their installation luncheon and Awards ceremony last Thursday noon, and ended up with a new president, a new board (partially), and 4 important Public Safety and Service Awards to essential members of the Community.

Outgoing president Wanda Asbeck moderated the ceremonies, with the help of Lt. Jack Hagee of the Constable’s office, Judge Mike Parrott, and visiting Judge Reuben Guerrera.

The new president sworn in was banker Charlie Farrar. Other officers included 1st VP Vern Miller, 2nd VP Kim Harrison, Secretary Nancy Simpson, and Treasurer Diane Lester.

In addition to the installation, Awards were presented for community service. These included the top award, the Terry Davis Award, to Highlands/Bellaire firefighter Deacon Tittel. Deacon was cited for his service to two fire departments, his recognition as Firefighter of the Year by Bellaire and Harris County, and the offices and accomplishments he has held with the HVFD. He also has been active in community events such as the Sports Association, as a coach and board member.

Public Service awards went to Reserve Deputy Constable Joe Avalos; Highlands Firefighter Sean Matula; Sheriff’s Deputy Keith Thornton, presented by District II Captain Michael O’Brien; and the Business of the Year to Bouquets by Mae owner Rebecca Harrington.

Wanda Asbeck reminded the large crowd gathered for lunch that plans were underway for the annual Jamboree, scheduled for the first weekend in October.

Board members installed included Al Pyle, Gary Anderson, Linda Palmer, Calvin Evans, Kim Harrison, Debbie Langham, Nancy Simpson, Jerry Ickes, Wanda Asbeck, Weston Cotten, Roy Elliott, Gil Hoffman, Angela Barron, Vern Miller, Dianne Lester, Doug Dodds, Michelle Bitterly, Jim Strouhal, Lynn Kemplay, Dickie Woods.

The keynote address was presented by Judge Mike Parrott, speaking on Responsibility and the heroes of community service.

Presenters of awards included Jerry Ickes, Lt. Jack Hagee, Fire Chief Harvey Little, and Capt. Michael O’Brien of the Sheriff’s office.