Candidates line-up for party primaries

LIBERTY COUNTY—March 4 will be a busy day for local elected officials and political hopefuls as candidates from both sides of the aisle will battle for a spot on the November General Election ballot.
In the Democratic Primary Sheriff Greg Arthur will face Eugene “E.T.” Merritt. The winner meets Republican Henry Patterson in the fall.
Tommy Chambers and Mark Beausoleil are seeking the Democratic nomination for county attorney. Wes Hinch is unopposed on the GOP side.
Running for Constable of Precinct 3 are James Cooper and Danny Frankum. The winner of the Democratic Primary will face James Miles in November. There are three candidates for the Democrats for Constable of Precinct 6. They are Royce Wheeler, John Joslin and John “J.D.” Davis. No Republicans are running for the seat.

Murrie Gene Kinney, Jr. is challenging current Democratic Party Chairman Nancy Archer. Her Republican counterpart, Lester Ray Wisegerber, is unopposed in his reelection bid.
Alan Foster will challenge John Otto, the state representative for District 18, in November.
The only countywide race that will be decided in the March Primary will be for sheriff. Joe LaRive, who won the post in 2004 as a Democrat has switched to the GOP. He will face Hugh Sigers, whom he beat in the 2004 general election.
Running unopposed as Republicans are Gary Nelson, commissioner of precinct 3; Cheryl Lieck, county attorney; Margie Henry, county tax collector-assessor and Caroll Wilburn Jr., precinct 1 judge. Commissioner Mark Huddleson, a Democrat, is unopposed in his reelection bid.
One race that will directly impact Eastern Harris County is Precinct 3 constable. Ken Jones, the incumbent, faces two challengers in the Democratic Primary. They are Randy Rush and Bill Norwood. The winner draws Republican Tony Lewis in the fall.
There are six candidates vying for sheriff. Incumbent Tommy Thomas faces Paul Day and Michael Plagens in the GOP Primary while on the other side Adrian Garcia, Charles Massey and Guy Robert Clark are seeking the Democratic nod.
District Attorney Chuck Rosenthal’s decision to not seek another term has opened up a horse race in the Republican side. Seeking the nomination are Jim Leitner, Kelly Sieger, Doug Perry and Pat Lykos. C.O. “Brad” Bradford is the lone Democratic candidate,
Ed Emmett, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of county judge, faces a challenge from fellow Republican Charles Bacarisse. The winner faces the winner of the David Mincberg-Ahmad Hassan battle.
State Rep. Joe Crabb will have to beat fellow Republicans Martin Basaldua and David Davenport if he wants to keep his District 127 seat. Joe Montemayor awaits the winner in the fall.
District 4 State Senator Tommy Williams will face Michael Galloway in the GOP Primary.
Local Congressmen Gene Green (D-29) and Ted Poe (R-2) have no primary opponents. Green will face Republican Eric Story in the fall while Poe has no Democratic opponent.
Ron Paul (R-14) is running for two elected offices. In addition to his presidential bid he is also seeking the Republican nomination for Congress. Friendswood City Councilman Chris Pedan is standing in his way.