Barbers Hill Sports Hall of Honor to induct former athletic standout, honor others

Jeff Jones will be inducted into the Barbers Hill Sports Hall of Honor during a reception on Saturday.

MONT BELVIEU— Barbers Hill Sports Hall of Honor will hold its annual induction on Saturday, Jan. 12 beginning at 6 p.m. in the Sports Hall on the campus of Barbers Hill High School.
The BH Sports Hall of Honor committee chose Jeff Jones as the only inductee for the sports hall induction. Curt Ball will also be honored as a Special Recognition Honoree. Randy McCollum, Bill Kilgore, Joe Kilgore and the 1958 Regional Champion football team will all be brought back for special recognition as Highlight Honorees.
Inductee Jeff Jones was an outstanding all-around athlete for Barbers Hill High School from 1990-1994. He was a 3-year varsity basketball player who earned District “Newcomer of the Year” in 1992, defensive player of the year in 1993 and 2nd Team All-District in 1994. In track, he was a two-year varsity letterman. He also lettered one year as a varsity baseball player.
Jones’ athlete prowess was most notable on the gridiron as a member of the Barbers Hill Eagle football team. He was a 3-year varsity letterman, was named District “Newcomer of the Year” and 2nd Team All-District in 1991. He was named 1st Team All-District, 1st Team All-Greater Houston, 1st Team All-Region and Honorable Mention All-State in 1992. As a senior, Jones earned the title of team captain, team MVP, 2nd Team All-District and 2nd Team All-Greater Houston in 1993.

Jones had impressive career stats on the gridiron as he rushed for 3,696 yards, which is the Barbers Hill High School record; had a single season rushing total of 1,556 yards, another school record; had 55 career touchdowns, which still stands as the school record; and had a total of 23 single-season touchdowns, a tie for the school record.
At the collegiate level, Jones played at Sam Houston State University and was a 3-year letterman from 1995-1997. He also received the “Big Hit of the Game Award in the SHSU versus Texas A&M game and again in the SHSU versus Nicholls State game in 1997.
Special Recognition Honoree Curt Ball grew up in Barbers Hill and quickly became a die-hard Barbers Hill Eagle. He lettered in football, basketball and track, but his primary sport was football. He was a valuable contributor to the undefeated 1940 and 1941 championship teams. Ball served on the first Barbers Hill Sports Hall of Honor Committee and provided invaluable information and financial assistance that has helped to make the BH Sports Hall of Honor a unique and valuable asset for the school and community.
Highlight Honorees for the evening’s festivities will be Randy McCollum (1959-1963), Bill Kilgore (1960-1964) and Joe Kilgore (1962-1966). The 1958 Regional Champion football team, who were coached by Lloyd Kelley, Rod Purswell and Bruce Smith, will also be recognized as Highlight Honorees. Members of the team included David Cross, Al Mills, Kenneth Tilton, George Abbe, Raymond Fitzhenry, Chris Tilton, Leroy Stevens, Brian Honsinger, Woodrow Carroll, Douglas Dugat, Ken Hargraves, Jerrell Troutman, Richard White, Douglas Williams, Lee Wiley, Miller Lee Casey, Lynnwood Klaus, Hal Lyn Hooks, Leonard Mock, Paul Podraza, Carrel Smith, Milton Reeves, Vernon Moorehead, Lee Goodman, George Henry, Thurman Williams, Mike Lansford, Wilbert Weckwerth, Floyd Hill, Steve Barrow, Jerry Follett and Ronnie Duhon.
The Barbers Hill Sports Hall of Honor began inducting members in 2000, when they inducted 21 members, recognized five Special Recognition Honorees and inducted 13 teams. Since the initial induction, 18 other individuals have been inducted into the BH Sports Hall of Honor, one team was selected for induction; and seven Special Recognition Honorees were recognized.
The public is invited to join the festivities on Saturday, Jan. 12 beginning at 6 p.m. in the Barbers Hill Sports Hall of Honor, which is located near the south rotunda entrance into Barbers Hill High School. Tickets may be purchased at the door.