Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rotary wins Terry Davis Award

Chamber president Jim Wadzinski presents the Terry Davis Award to the Highlands Rotary Club. Members present (L to R) President Denise Smith, Weston Cotten, Sheila McDonald, Betty Brewer, Rose Smith, Gilbert Hoffman, Patricia Scott, and Andy Scott. Third from right is Will Carter of Congressman Babin’s office.

HIGHLANDS – The Highlands-Lynchburg Chamber of Commerce held their Annual Installation and Community Awards Banquet last Thursday evening, at the Monument Inn. There were Community Awards given to six outstanding individuals and organizations that have contributed to the life of the community. The top award is the Terry Davis Award, and it was given to the Highlands Rotary Club for their work in the community. A special award was given to Betty Brewer for her 35 years of supporting the Chamber. Betty is also an active member of the Rotary Club.

Executive Director Jessica Woods helped Judge Joe Stephens install the new Board of Directors. The emcee for the evening was Chamber president Jim Wadzinski. Opening remarks were made by vice-president Gary Guy. The guest speaker for the evening was Nelson Espitia, representing the office of Harris County Pct. 2 Commissioner Adrian Garcia. Espitia is an immigrant from Columbia, educated at North Shore high school. He spoke about Commissioner Garcia’s agenda and priorities for Pct. 2. President Wadzinski wrapped up the evening by noting this was his 5th term, and recounting some of the accomplishments of the Chamber. He also spoke about the upcoming $335m bond issue coming up for Goose Creek CISD, and the importance of it passing.