Highlands Chamber elects Farrar new president; honors peace officers, others at Thursday luncheon

New president Charlie Farrar

HIGHLANDS– With a renewed vigor, the Highlands Chamber holds an awards luncheon and installation today, Thursday, July 10, at the Teapot Depot. Chamber members, the public, and friends of honorees are welcome and encouraged to come, according to outgoing president Wanda Asbeck.

Elections for directors have been completed, and at today’s luncheon judges Mike Parrott and Tony Polumbo will swear in the new slate.

This includes directors as follows: Newly elected, Debbie Langham, Kim Harrison, Linda Palmer, Nancy Simpson, Calvin Evans; returning, Wanda Asbeck, Jerry Ickes, Dianne Lester, Vern Miller, Angela Barron, Weston Cotten, Gil Hoffman, Douglas Dodds, Michelle Bitterly, Jim Strouhal, Roy Elliott, Lynn Kemplay, Dickie Woods, and Gary Anderson.

Officers to be installed for the coming year are: Pres. Charlie Farrar, 1st VP Vern Miller, 2nd VP Kim Harrison, Secretary Nancy Simpson, and Treasurer Dianne Lester.

At the luncheon planned for Thursday, the Chamber will present awards to Peace Officers, Fireman, and Business of the Year. These will be announced at that time.

In addition, the Terry Davis award will be made. This honor goes every year to someone in the community that gives their time and effort to the improvement of the community in a selfless way. It is named in memory of Davis, who died after helping to clean up the community after Hurricane Alicia in 1983.

The new president, Charlie Farrar, is an officer at Woodforest National Bank in Highlands, and has been a past president of the Highlands Rotary Club and a Paul Harris Fellow.