Area school board elections planned

EAST HARRIS COUNTY – Voting for the local school boards will be held Saturday.

The Crosby ISD will see one race on the ballot this year.

Longtime board member Earl Boykin is seeking reelection to Position #7. He is being challenged by Eileen O’Bier.

Position #7 encompasses Indian Shores, Lake Shadows, Heathergate, Tall Cedars and parts of Newport sections 6 and 10.

Running unopposed this year are Dan Kasprzak and Carla Mills Windfont. Kasprzak holds the Position 6 seat, which is the only at-large seat on the board while Windfont represents Position #5.

Huffman, like Crosby, will have one race on the ballot.

Incumbent Ken Moran is being challenged by Guy Smith for the Position #7 seat.

Ray Burt is unopposed in the Position #6 race.

The decision by Jepp Busch to not seek another term on the Goose Creek CISD board of trustees had opened the Position #6 race to two candidates.

Bob Hoskins and Jerry Vinson are seeking the seat that represents the far-east side of Harris County and parts of Chambers County, which sends students to Austin Elementary and Cedar Bayou Junior.

Position 7, which includes de Zavala Elementary and Horace Mann Junior, in southeastern Baytown, will see an incumbent challenged by a former trustee.

Trustee Steve Fischer is being challenged by former board member David Havel.
Polls will be open Saturday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.