CMS cheerleaders named “Top Team”

The Crosby Middle School 7th and 8th grade cheerleaders recently attended a National Cheerleader Association Summer Camp

The 2005 – 2006 Crosby Middle School cheerleaders recently attended a NCA summer camp where they received the Top Team Award.

The squad competed against 10 area schools by performing a camp chant and a stunt cheer. For receiving the Top Team Award, the cheerleaders were invited to perform in the halftime show of The Hula Bowl in Hawaii.

The 7th grade cheerleaders are Ana Fernandez, Tiffany Gaspard, Alexia Gwinn, Erin Henry, Brooke James, Lauren Johnson, Destany Jordan, Mary Landers, Kirsten Minter, Tyra Singleton, Raysia St. Julian, and Jessica Travis.

The 8th grade cheerleaders are Kristin Acrey, Shalanderia Arceneaux, Nevate Bailey, Cheryl Barrett, Jena Bletsch, DeLynn Michalsky, Shantaya Mitchell, Kacy Morris, Lacy Morris, Ciera Sennett, and Lauren White.

The Cougar mascot is 8th grader, Courtney Richards.

Individual awards were also given during the camp. Nine of Crosby’s cheerleaders were nominated for a chance at receiving an All-American Cheerleader award. The 7th grade All-American nominees are Ana Fernandez, Tiffany Gaspard, Alexia Gwinn, Brooke James, Kirsten Minter, and Tyra Singleton. The 8th grade All-American nominees are Kristin Acrey, Nevate Bailey, DeLynn Michalsky, Kacy Morris, Lacy Morris, and Lauren White.

After performing in front of a panel of judges, the following CMS cheerleaders received the All-American Cheerleader Award for displaying superior qualities of cheerleading in leadership, showmanship, and technique: Ana Fernandez, Tiffany Gaspard, Alexia Gwinn, Tyra Singleton, Kristin Acrey, and Lauren White.