Hall, Ybarra named Eagle of the Year

Eagle of the Year recipients Brooks Ybarra

MONT BELVIEU—For the first time in Barbers Hill history the Eagle of the Year Award, the highest honor a current student-athlete can achieve, was given to two recipients.
This year’s Eagle of the Year is Brooks Ybarra and Chandler Hall.
Athletic Director Don Price said that in selecting the recipients, each coach nominates one player for the award. Once the nominees are made the coaches, as a group, vote for the person who best exemplifies the Barbers Hill Scholar-Athlete. This year, he noted, three votes were taken and each time the vote ended in a tie. After the third vote, he said, they agreed to make the joint award.

Other award recipients were: Girls Basketball—Keeley Rivera, most assists; Shannon Mudd, Brittany Gibbs and Rivera, leading rebounder; Lauren Sadler, outstanding defensive player and Rivera, most valuable player.
Boys Basketball- Heath Padgett, defensive award; Ian Hamblin, Heart Award and Jon Daniels, most valuable player.
Tennis—Landry Tice and Brittany Tobin, boys and girls most valuable player.
Golf—Austin Snell and Melissa Freeman, boys and girls most valuable player.
Girls Track—Hillary Pooles, most valuable player and Meghan McCoy, Achievement Award.
Boys Track— Jess Williams, most valuable player and True Grit Award.
Softball—Brooke Bens and Rebecca Nicholson, defensive award; Whitney Miller and Hall, offensive award and Hall, Leadership Award.
Baseball—Hunter Silva and Jake Ponder, offensive award; Ross Hales, defensive award.
The Academic Award, which goes to the student-athlete with the highest grade point average, went to Jon Daniels.