Few surprises in Election results

HARRIS COUNTY – With 92 percent of the votes tabulated, local and state elections have very few upsets from predictions. Voters are reminded that this is a Primary Election, and the final votes that count will be in November.

Ted Cruz took 45% of the Republican vote, and Hillary Clinton had 71% of the Democratic vote.

Closely watched races included the U. S. House District 29, where incumbent Gene Green defeated challenger Adrian Garcia with 58% of the votes, versus 38% for Garcia.

On the Democratic ballot, Kim Off defeated Overstreet with 52% of the votes. For Sheriff, Ed Gonzalez had 44% of the votes, versus 30% for Jerome Moore. This will result in a run-off.

Local favorite Joe Stephens had 65% of the vote for Justice of the Peace for Pct. 3, but will face a Republican challenger Tom Zakes in November.

For Constable in Pct. 3, there were nine candidates in a hotly contested race. Sherman Eagleton had the most votes, 20.4%, with Michel Pappillion second with 15.5% and Jasen Rabalais third with 15%. A run-off will be held with the top two contenders.

Other Constable candidates received the following: Reed 9%, Stewart 14%, Norwood 4%, Jones 7.7%, Villarreal 8.8%, and Melancon 5.4%.

The Republican ticket was also interesting, with Cruz receiving 45% of the vote, Trump 25%, and Rubio 19%. Far behind were Kasich with 5% and Carson with 3%.

In Montgomery County, for U.S. Rep.District 8, incumbent Kevin Brady fought off a strong challenge from Steve Toth, and got 58% of the vote. In District 36, Brian Babin won 72% of the vote, unopposed.

In local State Representative District 127, incumbent Dan Huberty garnered a strong 78% of the vote, to defeat M. Bosworth. In State House District 128, it appears that incumbent Wayne Smith only received 43% of the vote. However, challenger Briscoe Cain only received 49% of the vote, which will lead to a run-off.

Sheriff Ron Hickman received a strong 72% of the votes, against challenger Carl Pittman with 20%.

For Tax Assessor-Collector, Mike Sullivan had 83% of the vote, versus candidate and previous A-C Don Sumners.