Harris County will hold a Run-off Election on Tuesday, May 24 for a number of offices where no candidate received a majority (50%+) of the votes in the March 1st Primary election.

This Primary determines who will go on to face the other party’s candidate in November. This primary run-off is open to all registered voters, those that had voted in the March 1 Primary must vote for the political party they voted for originally.

Highlands voters go to Highlands Elementary School to vote. Voters all have until Friday May 20 for early voting at any location inside the county like the Harris County Library Crosby Branch. Democrats vote at the Crosby Library on May 24 but Republican Precincts 0097, 0382, 0604 and 1008 vote at Newport Elementary School. While all others vote May 24 at the Crosby Library.

House of Representatives District 128 that includes Highlands, Crosby, Deer Park and most of Huffman and part of Baytown sees a heated race between incumbant, conservative Wayne Smith against outsider, conservative, Briscoe Cain.

On the Democratic ticket, a number of statewide offices, and locally the Harris County Sheriff’s election, Ed Gonzalez runs against Jerome Moore.

Ron Hickman, incumbent Sheriff, won outright the Republican contest and faces the Democratic Primary Run-Off winner in November.

Above all races the most contested is for Harris County Precinct 3 Constable. North Shore resident Michel Pappillion is facing Barrett Station native, Sherman Eagleton.

Originally this contest had eight candidates. This post is held by Ken Jones but he is retiring.

The winner will face Republican Don Webb who ran uncontested in March and awaits November.

Three District Judge positions are on the ballot, For District Judge in the 11th Judicial District Kristen Hawkins is opposed by Rabeea Collier on the Democratic ticket. For the 61st Julie Countiss faces Fredericka Phillips. Elaine Palmer and JoAnn Storey face off for the 215th Judicial District.

These are just a few of the races of local interest on the Democrat slate.

On the Republican side, Railroad commissioner vies Gary Gates vs Wayne Christian. There are two races for Judge positions in Criminal Appeals.

Ray Wheless faces Mary Lou Keel for the Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2. Scott Walker is opposed by Brent Webster for Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5.

Voters are encouraged to vote in this election, because only a few votes could determine the outcome in a run-off where no major races are present. Turnout in this type of election is typically low, and candidates are working to get their supporters to the polls.

Early Voting will started on Monday, May 16 and run through May 20. Hours are from 7 am to 7pm. There are 44 locations in Harris County for Early Voting, and you can vote at any of them.

On election day, May 24, many of these same locations will be where you vote, but only the one where you live. You can check your voting location that day, by going to the website www.harris votes.com and entering your home address.