Election upsets in nation, county

Harris County–Election results for this county are a stunning reminder of the power of the public and that the will of the people is beyond the predictability of pollsters.

Locally, the largest percentage lead of all went to Republican Brian Babin in the U.S. House of Representatives District 36 for 87% over H.J. Ridley Jr. 10%.

Hillary Clinton took 54.01% of Harris County votes over Donald Trump 41.97%. Libertarian Gary Johnson had 3.01% and Jill Stein with assistance of Ajamu Baraka in the Green Party mustered 0.89%. But national returns are another matter. Hillary Clinton conceded with seven states too close to call and Donald Trump modestly accepted.

U.S. Rep. District 29 Julio Garza took 24.05% of the vote while incumbent Democrat Gene Green had 72.43%.

In District 2 that was stripped from local voters, Rep. Ted Poe won 60.85% against Pat Bryan 35.83%. Also ran were Libertarian Ruben Perez with 2.43% and Green Party James Partsch-Galvan with 1.09%

Rep. Devon Anderson District Attorney for Harris County has lost to Democrat Kim Ogg 45.9% to 54.1%.

The long fought battle for Precinct 3 Constable was won by Crosby native, Sherman Eagleton 59,456 votes 61.78% over Republican Dan Webb with 38.82% and 37,732 votes.

Democrat Joe Stephens won Precinct 3 Position I Justice of the Peace with 59.69% of the vote over Rep. Tom Zakes 40.31%.

Republican Sheriff Ron Hickman lost his post to Democrat Ed Gonzales, 47.31% to 52.69%. That is 595,820 to 663,590 votes.

Rep. Tax-Assessor-Collector Mike Sullivan lost to Dem. Ann Harris-Bennett 49.81 to 50.19%.

Huffman ISD Position 1 was won by Robin Colbert with 2,537 votes over Vernon Reed 1,803.

MUD 50 Position2 was won by Alice Faye Dangerfield with 448 votes over Jalissa Johnson with 250 votes.

In state representatives races it was all Republican. Again a redistricted away Dan Huberty in District 127 had 49,252 votes to Libertarian Scott Ford 7,275 and Joseph McEllipott of the Green Party had 3,381. Locally, in District 128, trial lawyer, Briscoe Cain who unseated Republican Committee Chairman Wayne Smith had 41,610 over Libertarian Ken Lowder 6,492 votes.

County Attorney was no surprise, Democrat Vince Ryan had 53.59% of the vote and Republican Jim Leitner took 46.41%.