Crosby Chaplain Patterson receives National award from American Legion

By 8th District Adjutant Steven Johnson

HOUSTON – The Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center in Houston, TX held its 81st Anniversary Four Chaplains Day Ceremony on February 02, 2024, in the VA Chapel.

The National Chapel of the Four Chaplains Legion of Honor Awards was presented to Cedric Patterson, who is the Veteran Affairs & Rehabilitation Commission, Hospital & VAVS Commission Chairperson, 2nd Division Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation & Hospital Chairman VAVS Representative Michael DeBakey Medical Center. The American Legion Houston 8th District Chaplain & formal David H. Mc Nerney Post 658 Crosby Chaplain. Cedric Patterson was also presented with the Star of David Believer Pin.

Many join as they commemorate the lives of four Army Chaplains of different faiths who joined together and sacrificed themselves to save others during WWII. Today, as it has these many years, the Chapel of Four Chaplains serves the memory of these brave men and carries their message of interfaith cooperation and selfless services to every part of our country.

To recognize and encourage acts of volunteerism, brotherhood, and sacrifice among Americans of every age and station of life, the Chapel established the Legion of Honor Program. The Legion of Honor Award is given in recognition of exceptional selfless service on the part of an individual which contributes to the well-being of his or her community, and to the spirit of interfaith cooperation.

Mr. Cedric Patterson is also the Department of Texas American Legion Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation Commission Hospital and CDCE/VAVS Committee Chairman. Also 2nd Division CDCE/VAVS Hospital Representative and 8th District Michael DeBakey CDCE/VAVS Hospital Representative, 8th District Chaplain and 2nd Division CDCE/VAVS Hospital Representative.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.