Filing period opens for School Trustee elections in May


EAST HARRIS COUNTY- Forget about the primaries, an election process which has a direct impact on the residents of Crosby, Huffman and McNair has now begun.

Filing began last week for the Crosby, Huffman and Goose Creek CISD Board of Trustees elections.

The election will be held May 15, with early voting beginning on March 16 and lasting through May 11.

Each district will have two seats up for election this year. In Huffman, positions 4 and 5 are on the ballot. Currently, these seats are being held by Pat Buzbee and Kent Hjerpe. As of press time the only candidate to have filed for a place on the ballot is Charles Mason for Position 4. Both of these seats are at-large positions so all voters whithin HISD boundaries can vote.

Crosby has two single-member districts on the ballot. These are Positions 3 and 4 currently held by Lindy Murff and Sheryl Shaw respectively. Position 3 covers the eastern quadrant of the school district, from FM 2100 east to Cedar Bayou and the Liberty County line near Huffman. Position 4 voters are those living in the western parts of Newport, closest to the river with the exception of Section 10.

As of presstime only Shaw has filed for the election. During the election, only those living in the specific districts can vote.

In Baytown, Districts 1 and 4 are on the ballot. These are held by Phletria Barnes and Dr. James Lewis.

District 1 covers the western part of Baytown, primarily the McNair sections north and south of I-10 and extending to the area around Pumphrey Elementary. District 4 in located in Central Baytown. Carl Burg is sole candidate to date. He is running in District 4.

The deadline to file for a spot on either of the three ballots is March 15 at 5 p.m. If a district has no contested races at that time they can, under state law, cancel the election and declare the candidate winner by default.