Rotary installs Dane Listi as new president

Outgoing president Denise Smith passes the gavel of office to new president of the Highlands Rotary Club

HIGHLANDS – Culminating an eventful and successful year, outgoing Rotary president Denise Smith hosted the Installation Banquet last Friday night, June 29, as the new president for the 2012-2013 year, Dane Listi was sworn into office by Constable Ken Jones.

President Smith greeted guests and spouses as the 65 persons attending enjoyed seafood cooked up by the Henderson cooking team at the Baytown Boat Club.

In an annual tradition, Smith reviewed the highlights and foibles of her year in office.

The Partners In Education projects included 250 dictionaries, backpacks, 150 recorders for the music department, bicycles for perfect attendance, Red Ribbon week promoting drug awareness.

At Christmastime, the club delivered 131 food baskets to needy families.

For area youth, we sent 47 students to RYLA, a leadership conference, sponsored two Interact high school clubs, and awarded Scholarships for college to 15 students totalling $25,500.

A major project this year was funding a new Walking Trail in the center of Highlands, beside the elementary school. This was in memory of our friend Mark Mulloy, and used funds he provided. It was also spurred by suggestions from Cindy & Lindy Creel.

Our international projects included helping adjacent Rotary clubs with a water well project in Guatemala, continued support for the eye clinic in Guerrero, providing nets to protect against malaria carrying mosquitoes in Africa, and a joyful and rewarding year with our Spanish exchange student, Mariam Garcia Alfaro.

Other supported projects included the Highlands Chamber & Jamboree, Highlands Horizons, Stratford Library, Baytown Youth Fair, Crosby Fair & Rodeo, GC CISD Education Foundation, Food Bank, Homeless Shelter, and Highlands Sports Association. As Denise said, “Whew!”

Awards were given to outstanding Rotarians, and then Dane took his oath of office given by Constable Ken Jones. He introduced his officers and board who were also sworn into office.

These included:

Aaron Cole, Pres. Elect; Charlie Ward, Treasurer; Teresa Martin, Secretary; Alton Neatherlin, Sergeant at Arms, and the following Directors:

Weston Cotten, Community; Betty Brewer, Membership/PIE; Denise Smith, Polio Plus; Dr. Larry white, Scholarships; Gil Hoffman, Programs, Sheila McDonald, Vocational.